I Am A Coach. I Have A Question.

Join us and make your voice heard!

• LeeDunne
    07/17/2023

Quick question - in the 2nd grade SFYS league, is it required for the Goalkeeper jersey to have a player number on it?

• LeeDunne
    05/18/2023

This past season my players asked specifically for help with some basic skills (they want to pass better, work on footwork/dribbling, learn some “moves”, etc.).  All the coaching ed I have read says these things will develop with more touches on the ball, and that we (coaches) should be focusing on game-like situations.  I’ve got a variety of skill level and athletic ability on my team and some are still struggling with basics.  I know that what they need is to practice on their own at home, but most don’t (even when we use incentives).  I’m wondering about next season and if you have any suggestions for ways to incorporate these skills into practices in any ways other than game-like situations?  Or do I just keep doing that and the skills will follow?

• Mary
    04/06/2023

Hi, I have a few players that get frustrated with their team mates if they make mistakes. The frustration makes their team mates feel bad. How do I address these situations? Do I speak to their parents? This happened during practice and I was not able to address right away besides speaking to the offended player. I'd like to pull them both aside before the game to address what happened, and see if the offender can apologize and also how they can help each other. Is this an appropriate approach? Thanks

• LeeDunne
    03/31/2023

Our head coach won’t be in town this weekend. I’m the STAR, but I haven’t been screened for a background check and wondering my eligibility to head coach. Can I get screened today or do something else so we can play on Saturday? 

• LeeDunne
    03/28/2023

Hello,